The Wayne County Auditor's Office has partnered with DocuPet to provide residents with an enhanced pet licensing experience.
Click here to View the Press Release
Ohio State Law requires any dog over the age of three (3) months to have a license within 30 days of ownership. Any license purchased after 30 days of ownership, or renewed after the annual renewal period between December 1 through January 31 must include a penalty. Dog licenses can now be easily purchased online at waynecounty.docupet.com, by mail, over the phone or by visiting the Wayne County Auditor's Office. Licenses are available in 1 and 3 year increments, with the option for lifetime licenses also available. All licenses expire on January 31st, and late fees apply on February 1st.
Your dog's license now includes DocuPet's free HomeSafe 24/7 lost pet service and the option to upgrade to designer license tag styles with personalization options. Additionally, 20% of every product sale (designer tags, collars and leashes) is donated to Wayne County Dog Shelter through DocuPet's Safe&Happy Fund.
Visit waynecountydocupet.com for more information on how to license your pet using this new, easy-to-use online licensing service that provides a quick and seamless way to license your pet from the comfort of your home.
ALERT: Auditor Underwood urges dog owners to be cautious when purchasing dog licenses online. The only outside vendor legally permitted to sell dog licenses online for Wayne County is DocuPet. We have had reports of an online vendor fraudulently selling licenses to unsuspecting dog owners.
Ohio Revised Code
The laws governing dog licensing in the State of Ohio may be found in the Ohio Revised Code (ORC), sections 955.01, 955.05, and 955.26
Ohio law requires licenses be renewed each year between December 1 and January 31. The 2023 Dog Licenses will go on sale December 1, 2022.
- Puppy turning 3 months old after July 1st - $8.00
- Adult dog annual license - $16.00
- Adult Dog 3 year license - $48.00
- Adult Dog permanent license - $160.00
- A duplicate license for a current lost license - $5.00.
- To transfer a current license to a new owner - $5.00.
- Kennel License - $80.00 - **Please visit the Wayne County Auditor's Office as kennel licensing is not processed online through DocuPet**
There is no provision in the law to waive the penalty. If you renew your dog's license after the January 31st due date the cost will be as follows:
Tag Type February 1st and later
Adult dog annual $16.00 license + $16.00 penalty = $32.00 total cost
Adult dog 3 year $48.00 license + $16.00 penalty = $64.00 total cost
Adult dog permanent $160.00 license + $16.00 penalty = $176.00 total cost
Kennel License $80.00 license + $80.00 penalty = $160.00 total cost
Fillable Dog License Application
Kennel License Application
Benefits of Licensing
- Hundreds of unique and colorful designer tag styles to choose from, or design your own tag online
- With full access to HomeSafe 24/7 lost pet service, upload recent photos of your pet and include important information that will help identify and retrieve them if they become lost
- Gain access to exclusive promotions and discounts
- Add additional pet guardians to your pet's profile
- Skip the trip and easily purchase or renew your pet's license from the comfort of home
- Upload important new documents for your pet by snapping a photo
- Make an optional donation to Wayne County Dog Shelter via DocuPet's Safe&Happy Fund and support local animals in need
- Easily view and download your pet's license documentation
- Read up on exclusive pet-focused content
- Manage, or make changes to your account at anytime, including updating your contact information and making changes to pet details and status
- View your order status and history
Current Licenses From Outside Wayne County
If you move to Wayne County from another county within Ohio we will honor the license until it is expired. However, if you move here from another state you are required to purchase a license immediately upon arrival. If you wait more than 30 days, we are required to charge a penalty.
A license tag provides a quick and accurate way of getting your pet home should they get lost. Every Wayne County license tag comes readily equipped with DocuPet's HomeSafe 24/7 lost pet service, which has reunited thousands of pets with their families.
Every DocuPet license tag is etched with that pet's own unique 8-digit HomeSafe code that links to their online pet profile. Pet owners should create a Lost Pet Reports as soon as they realize their pet has gone missing. Anyone who finds a lost pet can easily reference this unique 8-digit code and create a Found Pet Report by visiting waynecountydocupet.com. For additional assistance in finding the owner of a lost pet please contact the Wayne County Auditor's Office (Location and hours listed below). However, please remember if the license tag is not attached to your pet's collar it will not help in the event your pet is lost.
Pet owners my upload current photos of their pet and include essential details such as medical information, care instructions, identifying features, and add Pet Guardians. The more information in a pet's profile, the more helpful it will be in getting them home should they ever end up lost.
The law requires each dog to be wearing its tag. A dog can be seized and impounded by the Dog Warden if they are over 3 months old and found not wearing their license tag, per Ohio Revised Code 955.12.
Regulation #121, section 2.1 under the Wayne County General Health District states "After January 1, 1989, in the Wayne County Combined General Health District, every dog six months of age and older shall be vaccinated against rabies. Every unvaccinated dog six months of age or older which is newly acquired or newly residing in the Wayne County Combined General Health District shall be vaccinated against rabies within thirty days after purchase or arrival." .
Ohio law specifies that all dogs must be confined to your property or under reasonable control - such as on a leash when being walked. It is not safe (and not legal) to allow your dog to roam the neighborhood.
Dangerous and Vicious Animals
First time designations must be registered through the Wayne County Auditor's Office with required documentation to receive the dangerous dog tag.
Please be aware of the City Ordinances pertaining to dangerous and vicious animals, as recorded in Orrville, Rittman, and Wooster City.
License fees are accepted year round at the following locations; PLEASE NOTE you will receive your license in the mail within 14 business days
Wayne County Auditors Office
428 W Liberty St
Wooster, Ohio 44691
Saturday-Sunday CLOSED, Monday-Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Wayne County Dog Shelter
5694 Burbank Rd
Wooster, Ohio 44691
Sunday-Monday CLOSED, Tuesday-Friday: 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM, Saturday 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM
If you have questions regarding the information on this page, please call the Wayne County Auditor's Office at 330.287.5444